So much to tell you about this weekend! Joyce Yang returns with Rachmaninoff’s Second Piano Concerto. I had such a fantastic time working with her in November for the MSO’s Tchaikovsky Spectacular and I’m sure she will be dazzling once again! Edo de Waart is doing another one of his classics: Rachmaninoff’s tragically underperformed masterpiece – the first symphony. Ask any of the MSO musicians – this piece is perhaps the most difficult piece on the MSO calendar this season. It requires incredible sensitivity and yet powerful endurance – and is undeniably the work of a young genius.

I’m also very excited to give the pre-concert presentations this weekend so I hope you’ll join me an hour before the concerts in the Marcus Center Anello Atrium. It will feature our acting principal cellist, Scott Tisdel, performing a bit of the Rachmaninoff Cello Sonata with me. And, of course, we’ll discuss the remarkable story that connects the two Rachmaninoff works.

For now, please enjoy one of my all-time favorite uses of classical music in a movie: The Seven Year Itch. Marilyn Monroe goes crazy over Rachmaninoff in this hilarious exchange! Unfortunately, every time I hear the Second Piano Concerto now, I can only picture this scene…

About Francesco Lecce-Chong

www.lecce-chong.com

Leave a Reply

